What does this qualification cover?

  • 13 units in total (seven mandatory for extended diploma)
  • Six optional units are 60 guided learning hours (GLH) and seven mandatory units where four units are 90 GLH and three units are 120 GLH. Four units are externally examined units
  • The units are a blend of IT specialisms, studying hardware and software, managing, and communicating information and data, and the principles of designing and developing digital technologies and processes to support organisations, cyber security, and incident management
  • The choice of optional units includes:
    • Data modelling and analytics
    • Mobile internet technologies
    • Website development
    • Enterprise for IT
    • The Internet of Things

This will allow progression to a variety of degrees when combined with other suitable Level 3 qualifications.

What’s included?

  • 1080 Guided Learning Hours – which is the equivalent to three A Levels, these include a single A Level qualification (Extended certificate 360GLH) or double A Level qualification (Diploma 720GLH)
  • A mixture of theory and practical units that have been developed with our employers and universities in mind
  • Students completing their BTEC Nationals in Information Technology will be aiming to go on to employment, often via the steppingstone of higher education

Key Features

The BTEC Level 3 IT will inspire, motivate, and challenge students by following a broad, coherent, practical, satisfying, and worthwhile course of study.

The key features of this specification encourage the emphasis on:

  • Problem solving using computers
  • Software development
  • Games, mobile Apps, and website development
  • Software testing and IT project management
  • Network design and security
  • Big Data and Business Analysis and data modelling
  • The Internet of Things
  • Cloud Storage and Collaboration Tools

Links to workplace

It fully meets entry requirements for progression to a degree course in IT and related areas such as: digital technology solutions, IT management for business, computer networks security or business computing and entrepreneurship.

By choosing BTEC Level 3 IT one will have access to a wide range of rewarding occupations for example:

  • Digital Technology Solutions
  • Software developer
  • Computer Games Technology (design and development)
  • Creative Technology
  • Information Technology Management for Business
  • Computing Forensics
  • Computer Networks and Security
  • Cyber Security specialist

The course is also run in parallel with industry qualifications such as Cisco Networking Academy courses and Palo Alto Academy courses (Cybersecurity).


Year 10


Year 12

Our Partners